What do you love? by Google

Here it is, What do you love?, an apparently not so new service. It was launched last year and it gathers various other services offered by Google. The interface is simple to use, asking us what do we love.

The results come in columns, each one gathering information from different sources. I typed “coffee”, for instance. I got a map with coffee shops near my current location, provided by Google Maps. I got a video about coffee from YouTube; and so on: coffee tables designed with SketchUp, blogs about coffee, how to say coffee in 57 languages etc.

I personally like it. It helps me go exactly to the source I need without much effort. It makes it much easier to divide between the types of information you can access when searching for anything.

What do you think?

,

  1. #1 by Paule Steikunaite on April 20, 2012 - 8:08 am

    Ohh, Tina! Thanks for making me a little more aware of what’s happening in the web world today.

    To be honest – I’ve never herd about this thing before and I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m just thinking, isn’t it just another way to attract users to same things? I mean social media is already full of tools, helping you find what you after, why to make even more overloaded inventing one more tool for completely same thing..?

    But it’s probably just my trend-fear talkind 🙂

    • #2 by Tina on April 22, 2012 - 2:42 pm

      Well… I see your point. It seems we have everything and it`s like a the “new bubble”, like in 2000, ready to explode. Because there are so many so-called “services” that we don`t use. Yet people invest massive amounts of money in them.

      However, “What do you love?” seems to be more like an interface gathering all others in one. I would called it a new form of organizing Google services rather than a new tool. Because it`s nothing new we can do with it.

  2. #3 by lluchiano on April 22, 2012 - 3:10 pm

    That type of web application is called “mashup”.

    • #4 by Tina on April 22, 2012 - 3:12 pm

      Mashup. Got it. We always learn, don`t we?!

  3. #5 by cold3stwint3r on April 22, 2012 - 3:14 pm

    It’s nice, have you heard about the Google’s glasses, you might like them too :)))

    • #6 by Tina on April 22, 2012 - 3:17 pm

      I`ve heard about them. I don`t know if I`d like them, but something similar might be a part of our future… You never know.

  4. #7 by cold3stwint3r on April 22, 2012 - 3:21 pm

    It’s nice, have you heard about the Google glasses? They have something similar to this but they tell you what is the weather outside, remind you meetings and birthdays, also tell you the direction to different places. Nice 🙂

  5. #8 by Andrewwwwwww on April 22, 2012 - 3:25 pm

    Hmmmm is that really a new bubble? Because it really reminds me to “Stumbleupon” website which is quite the same. I do not know if you are aware of it but you choose what your interest are from differnt categories and then you start to stumble. It redirects you from one site to another and the principe is the same- you type “coffee” and you get pictures, videos, information and sometimes things that you could not even imagine that exist. So far so good averyone have interest and hobbies and that kind of tools can be very helpful in making you aware of your favourite meal for example. Which is concerning me is whether it has been created prior to “Stumbleupon”? Literaly I do not care but when I saw this it became very intrguing for me just because i get the feeling that Google is suffering from a new ideas. I mean they tried to make a :Google Plus” social network which I presume is not very successful if exist at all nowadays. Now this “What do we love?” is like “Stumbleupon”. Do not know if I am right but I am sure about one thing- it is good people to be informed.

    However Tina, thaks for the discussion. You made my brain work a bit and informed me for something new.

    • #9 by Tina on April 22, 2012 - 3:41 pm

      When I said the “new bubble” I was referring to that period in the Internet history when many sites/ projects went down because they were no use. The investors lost a lot of money. It was the end of web1.0 and very few companies, such as Google or Amazon, survived.

      Now I think “What do you love?” (WDYL) is a bit different from StumbleUpon. WDYL comprises only Google services. It`s like a new nice wrapping for the toys google has been always offering us. Whereas StubleUpon gives you the results from everywhere on the Internet, for every other service there is out there in the digital world. But I see your point. The concepts of both seem very similar.

      If we were to analyse it in depth, it even looks like Pinterest. And I`m quite sure they were released in about the same period.

      And, yeah, Google`s idea with Google+ wasn`t that successful. I guess they underestimated Facebook`s power. But you never know what they`ll invent next….

      • #10 by Andrewwwwwww on April 22, 2012 - 3:57 pm

        Trueee. Nobody knows 🙂

  6. #11 by Maria Cristofir on April 22, 2012 - 3:31 pm

    And behold, my new toy for the day. Cheers!

    • #12 by Tina on April 22, 2012 - 3:42 pm

      Have fun haha

Leave a Reply

